Board of Directors

Bigfork Valley is owned and governed by the Northern Itasca Hospital District, an entity formed under Minnesota statute in 1975. Today the district includes the cities of Bigfork, Effie and Big Falls, 6 organized townships and 6 unorganized townships in Itasca County, and unorganized territory in Koochiching County along Highway 6. Voters of the district are represented by 13 board members, including 2 at-large positions.

The board meets monthly in a public meeting, currently the first Tuesday at 9 a.m. in the board room at Bigfork Valley.

Board Members

  • George Rounds, Chair
    Stokes Township
    Term expires 2020
    P:  218-743-3312
    A:  40742 Turtle Lake Road
    Bigfork, MN 56628
  • Dan (Casey) Sursely
    City of Big Falls
    Term expires 2022
    P:  218-276-2330
    A:  1412 1st Street E
    Big Falls, MN 56627
  • Tom LaMont
    City of Effie
    Term expires 2020
    P:  218-244-1163
    A:  105 Hwy 1 E
    Effie, MN 56639
  • Dianne Bakke
    City of Bigfork
    Term expires 2022
    P:  218-743-6623
    A:  P.O. Box 187
    Bigfork, MN 56628
  • Linnette Davidson, Secretary
    Wirt Township
    Term expires 2020
    P:  218-659-2737
    A:  53081 Davidson Road
    Wirt, MN 56688
  • Ken Porter
    Bigfork Township
    Term expires 2020
    P:  218-910-0475
    A:  38719 County Rd 225
    Bigfork, MN 56628
  • Marie Lovdahl
    Unorganized Townships –Itasca County
    Term expires 2020
    P:  218-743-3686
    A:  34486 County Road 40
    Effie, MN 56639
  • Meredith Morneau
    Itasca County At-Large
    Term expires 2022
    P:  218-832-3211
    A:  41929 Turtle Lake Road
    Bigfork, MN 56628
  • Greg Cook
    Unorganized Townships
    –Koochiching County
    Term expires 2020
    P:  218-244-8044
    A:  11786 County Road 5
    Effie, MN 56639
  • Matt Huju
    Marcell Township
    Term expires 2022
    P:  218-832-3899
    A:  P.O. Box 123
    Marcell, MN 56657
  • Heidi Watson, Vice Chair
    At Large–Koochiching County
    Term expires 2022
    P:  218-244-2186
    A:  P.O Box 262
    Big Falls, MN 56627
  • Larry Salmela, Treasurer
    Carpenter Township
    Term expires 2022
    P:  218-780-9712
    A:  22838 Rollercoaster Road
    Effie, MN 56639
  • Vacant
    Pomroy Township
    City of Effie

Recurring Meetings:

Recurring monthly board meetings are held the first Tuesday of the month at 9:00 a.m. in the Board Room.

Recurring monthly finance committee meetings are held on the last Tuesday of the month at 3:00 p.m. in the Board Room.

Recurring quarterly governance committee meetings are held at 1:00 p.m. in the Board Room.

2019 Governance Committee Meeting Dates

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the board of directors of the Northern Itasca Hospital District will hold recurring quarterly governance committee meetings at 1:00 p.m. in the board room at Bigfork Valley.

Tuesday, October 29, 2019

Should a change in a meeting date occur, proper notification will be made.

Special Meetings:

As part of Bigfork Valley’s strategic plan, its Board of Directors is researching options for alternative governance models, specifically dual governance.  Click here for more information. 

Official Notices

Notices and meeting changes are posted to this web-page.  If you have questions regarding meetings or meeting minutes, contact us at (218) 743-1772.

The Bigfork Valley Board utilizes the Grand Rapids Herald Review for its official newspaper.

Bigfork Valley will host a public meeting to discuss the 2020 proposed levy on Monday, December 2, 2019 at 7:00 p.m. in the Board Room.  The Bigfork Valley Board set the certificate of proposed tax levy amount at $700,000 for 2020.  The final property tax levy is due on or before December 30, 2019.  Click here for a statement from the Board Chair, George Rounds, regarding the tax levy.

Board Meeting Minutes

October 2019 Regular Meeting

  • In this section

    Related links

    Contact us

    Bigfork Valley
    258 Pine Tree Drive
    P.O.Box 258
    Bigfork, MN 56628
    218.743.3177 | 866.743.3177