Board of Directors

Bigfork Valley is owned and governed by the Northern Itasca Hospital District, an entity formed under Minnesota statute in 1975. Today the district includes the cities of Bigfork, Effie and Big Falls, 6 organized townships and 6 unorganized townships in Itasca County, and unorganized territory in Koochiching County along Highway 6. Voters of the district are represented by 13 board members, including 2 at-large positions.

The board meets monthly in a public meeting, currently the first Tuesday at 9 a.m. in the board room at Bigfork Valley.

Board members

  • Chris Horton
    City of Big Falls
    Term expires 2018
  • George Rounds, Chair
    Stokes Township
    Term expires 2020
  • Anne Collins
    City of Bigfork
    Term expires 2018
  • Linnette Davidson, Secretary
    Wirt Township
    Term expires 2020
  • Ken Porter
    Bigfork Township
    Term expires 2020
  • Marie Lovdahl
    Unorganized Townships–Itasca County
    Term expires 2020
  • Greg Cook
    Unorganized Townships–Koochiching County
    Term expires 2020
  • Karen Springer, Treasurer
    At Large–Itasca County
    Term expires 2018
  • Matt Huju
    Marcell Township
    Term expires 2018
  • Heidi Watson, Vice Chair
    At Large–Koochiching County
    Term expires 2018
  • JoAnn Krickhahn
    City of Effie
    Term expires 2018
  • Larry Salmela
    Carpenter Township
    Term expires 2018

  • Vacant
    Pomroy Township


Special Meetings:

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Political Action Committee of the Board of Directors of Northern Itasca Hospital District will hold a meeting on Tuesday, February 27, 2018, at 1:00 p.m. in the Board Room at Bigfork Valley.

Purpose:  To develop a charter and to review Minnesota hospital and health system priorities for the legislative session.

Recurring Meetings:

Some board members may participate electronically.

Recurring monthly board meetings are held the first Tuesday of the month at 9:00 a.m. in the Board Room. 

Recurring monthly finance committee meetings are held on the last Tuesday of the month at 3:00 p.m. in the Board Room.

Recurring quarterly governance committee meetings are held at 1:00 p.m. in the Board Room.

2018 Governance Committee Meeting Dates

Tuesday, April 24, 2018

Tuesday, July 24, 2018

Tuesday, October 30, 2018

Should a change in a meeting date occur, proper notification will be made.

Board Meeting Minutes

January 2018